Middle Childhood Education Certification


For current matriculated undergraduate students wishing to extend their childhood education certification, grades 1-6, to also include grades 7-9.

Two types of certifications are awarded, Generalist (G) or Specialist (S), depending on the liberal arts major. Students wishing to extend their childhood education certification complete a major in one of the following areas: English (S), History (S), or Life Sciences (G). Note: some liberal arts majors require additional content coursework to meet the New York State middle childhood certification requirements.

See Childhood Education for program requirements.

Additional Professional Requirements for Certification

Note: Seeking an additional certification area may require student teaching outside the academic year and, thus, additional tuition cost may be incurred.

Item #
Sub-Total Credits
Total Credits